Hijacking of the DSLR

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

As you might have guessed from the title of this post, my dad bought himself a new camera, and I am extremely blessed to inherit his old DSLR. A really, really, really, great deal! So I decided to celebrate (and practice) by  giving my strawberry shortcake a photoshoot. Of course, my skills leave much to be desired, but one step at a time I suppose.

Instead of using buttercream for the frosting, I tried using stabilized whipping cream – which means combining gelatin and whipping cream together. But I failed… probably because I forgot to keep my cream in the fridge before I whipped it, which was such a ROOKIE mistake I just face-palmed myself. In the end, I decided not to risk it and just used normal whipping cream with some icing/confectioner’s sugar. Of course, it won’t be as stable (it was extremely runny actually) but it held up enough for me to get a decent naked-like frosting on the sides of the cake. Not too shabby. But I definitely have to try whipping cream with gelatin again – it will definitely make the cake look way nicer. And cream is so much lighter than buttercream, which is why I’m trying to change methods and cake style.

I picked up some small tiny flowers from the supermarket as well, just as decoration. This cake will be going to my friend’s family in celebration of them FINALLY moving into their new house after 3 years of planning and renovation 🙂

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

A side profile of the kek.

IMG_20170920_220213_853

Yep, that’s me. Hello.

Is this the first time I actually featured myself in a picture on my blog..? It actually might be. So hello. Look at my Asian eyes. I have single eyelids – a bane to all Asian girls out there. But I’m actually quite fond of them. They’re caused by a recessive gene, so at least I feel more unique than if I actually had double eyelids like the rest of the female population. Don’t be afraid of who you are and what you look like! (But of course, if I felt I was not within a healthy weight range I would try to exercise them flabs off. Try.)

I should really listen to my mom and do something about my hair though.

IMG_20170922_143758_353

This is going to be a really short post, because I really have to get on with studying.

Catch ya’ll in a bit.

*waves goodbye sadly*

Leave a Reply

