Choux au Craquelin

photo_2017-08-27_14-56-23

If there’s one dessert I love eating apart from creme brulee – it’s choux au craquelin.

Choux au craquelin is basically choux pastry with a biscuit topping – the brown crumbly stuff you see on the top of the bun. Naturally, choux pastry is will become softer out of the oven, and eating it plain with cream in the middle is rather boring to me. So the biscuit gives the pastry a lovely crunchy texture – something which takes the choux bun to another level and makes it so addictive.

I took this recipe from Will Torrent’s “Patisserie at Home” for the craquelin. You can use any choux pastry recipe you would like. Most of the choux recipes are very similar to each other anyway – they’re all based off a fundamental recipe.

Biscuit Topping

  • 80g softened butter
  • 100g light brown sugar
  • 100g all purpose flour
  1. Mix the butter and sugar together until well combined. You can either use a hand mixer, or just get some exercise and whisk it yourself.
  2. Add the flour to the mixture, and combine it into a dough.
  3. Lay the dough onto a sheet of greaseproof/baking paper and place another sheet of greaseproof paper on top of it. Using a rolling pin, flatten the dough out into a rectangle 3mm thick.
  4. Freeze the dough until ready to use or for 1 hour.
  5. When you have made your choux pastry and piped it out onto a greaseproof paper, simply take the dough out of the freezer and cut them into circles which are just slightly larger than the choux you have piped. Place one craquelin circle onto each choux dome, and bake.

photo_2017-08-27_14-56-29

And that’s it! Honestly, it couldn’t have been any simpler.

For my filling, I used creme diplomate – or double cream folded into some creme patisserie. This basically lightens up the rather thick pastry cream and you get a filling which is airy and tastes of vanilla heaven. Creme diplomate is basically 1:1 creme patisserie and softly whipped cream. I’m never going back after using creme diplomate – it’s my new go-to filling for any type of choux pastry – you can even use this for donuts if you’d like!

You can do anything with the biscuit recipe – I’m probably going to try making a matcha biscuit topping with matcha cream filling. If I am successful, I’ll probably do a separate write-up for it.

photo_2017-08-27_14-56-16

I would also just like to say apologies for the long silence. I was dealing with something that I had never experienced, and it took a long while for me to find out how live with the memory of that ordeal. I was thinking of writing a post about it – the things I have learned over the past year might be helpful for some individuals.

Also, I just recovered from a bout of tonsilitis and a 39.8°C fever. My mom took me to a doctor because my throat wasn’t getting better, and I found out that I was allergic to the new antibiotics I was given… and I was never allergic to anything before this -.- just my luck.

Until next time then 🙂

Leave a Reply

