Mini Chocolate Salted Caramel Popcorn/Peanut Butter Cakes

IMG_20151119_172920

Well, I know that I said I’ll be concentrating on finals, but my mother’s request of making two mini cakes for her friends today was too tempting to resist. So I made a chocolate and salted caramel popcorn cake, and a chocolate fudge peanut butter cake. Those are the two cakes in their little itsy boxes above – they’re only 4inches wide! How cute is that? Serves 8 people generously, and considering these cakes are 4 layers tall, it’s quite filling.

It’s very easy and takes little time to make these cakes actually, about 3h for both. Especially since they’re so small, baking and cooling time is very quick – it also gives me a break between economics and financial accounting. Haiz. The life of a business student.

IMG_20151119_160644-02_resized

So I tried out something new and interesting today – an upside down drip, inspired by @cakesbycliff on Instagram. His cakes are lovely, go check them out! To be honest, I am totally inspired by his artistic talent, and I’m trying to design my cakes like his – I’m giving him credit right now because I respect him, and I don’t want to be seen as a rip-off.

The upside down drizzle was too unique – I had to try it out for myself, and thank goodness it looks fine!

Anyway, I made my own popcorn and tossed it in homemade salted caramel sauce. Then I piled it into a mountain and ja-jang! A lovely salted caramel popcorn cake with chocolate layers. No wonder I’m growing fat.

IMG_20151119_173038

And this is my chocolate mud cake with peanut butter filling. It’s so rich I nearly died from diabetes – I couldn’t finish one slice at all. But then again, I don’t like peanut butter nor chocolate (yes, people call me the devil). But my mother loves it, and the taste is there just a tad dry. Nothing like a bit more improvement can solve. I love my cake because it slices so well. It doesn’t crumble on me, and I can lift a proper cake slice out and put it onto plates to distribute.

I also made some billowing meringue clouds for the cake – beautiful, especially when toasted. I’m probably going to make a s’mores cake one day 😉 IMG_20151119_173202

Here is the slice of cake which I couldn’t finish. As you can see, I complemented the peanut butter filling with some peanut butter chips in the sponge. See? Slices well!

Well, I’d better get on to studying. See you guys when I see you!

5 thoughts on “Mini Chocolate Salted Caramel Popcorn/Peanut Butter Cakes

Leave a Reply

