Raspberry Lemon Meringue Layer Cake

IMG_20151118_103012

This post is 3 weeks overdue, but I’ve finally received the pictures and they look great! The story behind this post is a very long one, but I’ll try to summarize it as best as I can.

My friend was looking for bakers/foodies to join him in an online venture – a platform which allows home bakers/home chefs to showcase their talents, and reply to orders if anybody would want to order from them. Of course we aren’t allowed to sell to the public, we are only allowed to sell by word of mouth, which is what I am doing currently, and is doing quite well for me thank you. This is definitely just a start-up (as they call, their “beta” stage), but I jumped onto their bandwagon and they came over for a photo-shoot, documenting the process of me making my cake – a raspberry, lemon and meringue cake with flowers.

You can watch the process of me working on building a cake in the flesh here  ❤

IMG_20151106_184836

Boy, I did not know that filming took so long. It takes my 3 hours total to make a cake (inclusive of waiting and baking time). But when filming, it took my 6 hours!! I was exhausted, as you can tell by how unsightly I look in the video. I am definitely not film star material.

It was a marvelous experience though. Not like I’m a professional baker yet – I do have to work on improving my cake texture and moisture, but it will take some time. With the encouragement and support of the lovely customers I’ve made friends with over the months, I can definitely see myself improving.

IMG_20151118_102749

And this is the inside of my raspberry lemon cake.Vanilla buttercream, with a raspberry jam and crushed meringue interior, with a lemon scented sponge. You have no idea how badly I was shaking while cutting the cake and making sure the slice didn’t fall out (yes, that’s my hand right there!).

In the end, this cake was given to a friend for HIS birthday – the color scheme is totally off, but I was only asked if I could give it to him after I had decorated it, and of course I said: “But of course!”

It definitely is a great experience, and I can’t wait to see what is in store for me 🙂 Don’t forget to check out foodhole.sg as well! Only caters to people living in Singapore I’m afraid.

 

4 thoughts on “Raspberry Lemon Meringue Layer Cake

Leave a Reply

