Chocolate and Salted Caramel Mini Cupcakes

IMG_20151112_132439

The weather has been a burden. I’m falling sick 4 times in 5 weeks and I’m kind of pissed off. Don’t tell me I’m not drinking enough water because I drink like an elephant who’s lived in the African desert for 3 months without seeing a drop of rain. Finals are in 1.5weeks too, and it’s not a good time to fall sick I tell you!!

Anyway, I just love dark pictures ❤

These are salted caramel filled cupcakes with a chocolate frosting on top. I definitely need to work and create a proper chocolate frosting recipe, but lately I haven’t had time. This frosting was too sweet, so I balanced it out by sprinkling some coarse sea  salt over it. The caramel sauce inside the cupcake helps to balance the sweetness too, which is nice. *insert meme here*

If you get what I just said, hello fellow 9gagger!

_DSC2231

I had time to make this because I had some leftover cake batter while making an order for a lovely customer of mine. Filling the cupcakes makes life much easier when you have an apple corer – it’s just stab, twist, and pull!

To be honest, there has been an overload of orders lately mostly from word of mouth. It’s been a great journey, but it’s just going to get harder from now on. As my mom said: “It gets even harder when you’re a good, famous baker.” I guess I have to balance my time out  between studies and baking – but it’s great I’m having some exposure to this whole bakery business instead of just throwing myself right in.

IMG_20151112_132544

Alright, I’ve got to go now. 2 out of 3 cakes done for the weekend, and I’m on my way to study and then get some rest before I fall sick. See you guys soon with an update of the cakes I made! ❤

4 thoughts on “Chocolate and Salted Caramel Mini Cupcakes

  1. I love dark food photos too but I find it really difficult to get it right. Have you got any tips?

    Your cupcakes look gorgeous, loving the way you have done the frosting on top, they’re so perfect looking.

    This post would make a great addition to Our Growing Edge this month, a monthly link up for new food adventures. This month’s theme is HOLIDAY BAKING. More info here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

    Like

    • Thank you very much! I for the dark effect I put a black object behind my bakes – in my case, I actually used my baking tray! Also, don’t take pictures in direct sunlight – it’ll just make everything look harsh. You can draw a white curtain across the window and it will do fine 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

