Toasted Coconut and Almond Cupcakes

IMG_20151001_155246

So I’ve finally gotten round to using a camera which is not located on a phone.

A Nikon camera actually, and I just LOVE the way all my pictures turned out. I do have to play around with the lighting and background designs a bit more so that my pictures can look like a true food photographer’s, but practice makes perfect, as I always tell myself. And I always need a LOT of practice.

White balance, ISO, focus – it all sounded like jargon to me when I was frantically messaging my dad on how to correct the lighting of my pictures over WhatsApp. But it helps that my two passions (photography and food) go hand-in-hand together so nicely 🙂 I can’t wait until my midterms are over, when I can try out more things.

IMG_20151001_183457

Anyway, these cupcakes are so coconut-y you will feel like you’re in Malaysia or something. I don’t know, one of those Asian countries which love coconut so much. Anyway, I added some ground almonds into my cupcake base, to give them a little nutty background. The frosting is a simple vanilla buttercream, sprinkled with some toasted dessicated coconut – you can easily buy this from supermarkets. I also jazzed up the coconut flavoring in the cupcake with a little bit of coconut essence. Not too much, just enough to make sure that the coconut is the main star in this dessert.

My hand looks so grey I look like a zombie goddayum.

IMG_20151001_155829

Hello there my little cupcake! ❤

I just love the dark, vignette effect on these photos. I don’t know how I did it, but I SHALL FIND OUT SOON ENOUGH. Also, I’m going on a live-aboard to Pulau Hantu (an island near Singapore) as part of a marine conservation community project. I just can’t wait, but I also hope I can lose the flabs around my thighs in time if not it will be extremely hard for me to squeeze into my wetsuit 😦

One thought on “Toasted Coconut and Almond Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

