Salted Caramel Earl Grey Dream

IMG_20150822_162940

I had this sudden idea to write a post about each customized cake I made, and give each cake a name so that in future if there comes a time when a customer doesn’t know what kind of cake to order exactly, I could present her with a “lucky draw” kind of cake surprise – a combination of all her favorite flavors moulded into one cake, but in totally different styles.

I don’t even know if I’m speaking sense here, but I thought it would be quite fun and interesting if it really worked out.

It probably won’t though.

But anyway, here’s a three-layer salted caramel earl grey cake, topped with matcha chocolate macarons and a large bouquet of fresh roses and baby’s breath. When I first got the order from my college friend who was thinking of a cake to buy for his girlfriend, he told me: “Please make it pretty!” And the entire way I was making this I was asking my helper: “Is it nice? Does it look pretty??”

IMG_20150822_145957

Matcha macarons are quite queer, in a sense that they seem to be softer than the regular macarons even though I use the exact same recipe except that I substitute some almond flour for matcha powder. I think it’s the matcha powder that is to blame 😦 But my solution was to bake the shells for a tad longer and immediately after they cooled on the tray I stuffed them into an air-tight container and threw them into the fridge to chill and harden slightly.

It did work. Sort of. Still kind of soft and chewy though. But tastes great anyhow.

IMG_20150822_164607

I’m quite happy at the way this turned out. Rustic but elegant in a sense. And the colors match quite well in my opinion – chosen with the help of my trusty man-slave who is artistic and has a good eye for color and design.

Also, yay for flowers ❤

One thought on “Salted Caramel Earl Grey Dream

Leave a Reply

