Dark Chocolate Pistachio Sea Salt Cookies

IMG_20150819_171240

It’s the first week of school, and the modules I am taking are slightly intense. The class participation is on a totally different level. Compared to the quiet shyness of my previous school – my new university is filled with outspoken individuals with a competitive spirit. Slightly daunting at first, but that better prepares you for working life and it’s a good (albeit slightly tough) way to boost your confidence and step out of your comfort zone. Which is what I am doing now.

Which is also why today called for a slight de-stressing with the quick whipping up of these dark chocolate pistachio cookies sprinkled with sea salt.

IMG_20150819_171323

These cookies have the perfect balance of salty and sweet.

The crispy sea salt flakes and crushed pistachios provide a lovely crunch to the cookies, whilst the dark chocolate buttons (I used Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate Chips) soften slightly in the oven during baking and melt in your mouth when you bite into them – absolutely delicious. The nuttiness that the pistachio gives complements the dark chocolate well, and I don’t think it can be substituted for anything else (which makes these cookies quite expensive to make).

But what is cost when you’re making something for your family hmmm?

MORE ABOUT MYSELF #1

I have to say that I am very bad at expressing gratitude, and I really am trying to work on it. Baking things for family and friends is one of the channels I use to show people sincere appreciation, and I hope that they realize that. I don’t like being taken for granted, and I hope my closest peers don’t have to feel that way too – it’s the worst feeling in the world.

IMG_20150819_171037

MORE ABOUT MYSELF #2

If you don’t know me that well, I don’t eat all the stuff I bake – I merely take a bite to make sure that the texture and flavor are there, and then I donate it to somebody for tea. As the saying goes: “Never trust a thin chef.” But I see baking as a form of art – something that can be appreciated visually, by taste, and by smell. That’s why I love to jazz up my baked goods as much as I can – I like my gifts to others to look pretty and taste good as well. It’s a form of effort you see.

So don’t judge me when I keep saying that I want to go on a diet – it’s not because my food doesn’t taste good 😉

2 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Pistachio Sea Salt Cookies

Leave a Reply

