Floral Wreath Cake

IMG_20150806_104044

Apologies for the long hiatus, but I had camps and other school matters to attend to.

But for my come-back, I’m featuring my new frosting design – a floral wreath cake with buttercream flowers and two-toned roses! I just love paying attention to detail when it comes to decorating cakes like this in order to make it as life-like as possible, and I have to say that I am quite satisfied with this cake.

Originally, it was supposed to be a plain pink ombre cake, but I thought that it was too plain. And since it was for some of my juniors, I decided to add on the flowers (I had leftover icing anyway). And I’m so glad I did.

IMG_20150806_104111

It reminds me of the cross-stitches my mom used to make when I was little (she’s very good at it by the way). And there isn’t so much buttercream used for the flowers compared to the other more detailed floral wreath cakes out there which other talented bakers are doing right now. They have definitely more talent than me in making those kinds of cakes, so I think I’ll just stick to this simple design for the rest of my life and improve on it.

Know your strengths and build on it people!

Also, this cake is the first to feature my new sponge cake recipe. It’s like, three times lighter than the previous recipe (which sucked). I can carry the cake around and toss it up into the air and flip it like roti prata if it wasn’t for the hard work I put in to making the icing straight and flowers pretty.

IMG_20150806_112443

I’m so excited about this latest design. I think I can really make people happy with this and also make the cake worth their money and time (because all my cakes are self-collection they come down personally to take them from me! And considering that they have never tasted any of my baked goods before ordering this is a very honorable task to do, even if it was just a simple order).

I have another ombre cake coming up this weekend, so stay tuned for that. I’ll probably do the same design, except in midnight blue and grey flowers.

I just love my part-time job/hobby 😀

Then again it wouldn’t be a hobby if I didn’t love it, would it?

Leave a Reply

