Ombre Cake

IMG_20150624_102952

My very first attempt at an ombré cake turned out better than I could have ever hoped. Not only did the colors not mix, the gradient was natural and the cake topper just complements the cake so well.

This cake was a last minute order by a very cute boy who asked his mom if he could order a cake from me for his birthday. I only had a day’s notice to make the cake and design it so I settled on a blue ombré – less is more, and very visually attractive if done right.IMG_20150624_123053

I am probably the messiest baker you will ever meet in your entire life. But the color gradient whee! As my friend so put it: “My goodness it’s like you’re wiping a rainbow off your cake with every scrape!”

Reminds me of the ocean ❤IMG_20150624_105418This is the cake without the cake topper. And if you really want to know, I made the flags by hand – cutting, tying, gluing it to strings and dowels. Took me a good 20 minutes to test my arts and craft skills (of which I always got a C for).

I should be making a traditional baked New York cheesecake soon for my dear Dad as a belated Father’s Day present, so watch out for that!

One thought on “Ombre Cake

Leave a Reply

