Lychee, Vanilla and Lemon Cake

IMG_20150613_174323

This lychee, vanilla and lemon cake was very stressful for me. It was my first time baking a cake for a guy, so I didn’t know how to design it.

Thankfully, the problems that were posed to me eventually became a blessing in disguise. My Swiss Meringue Buttercream separated on me, and the cake looked like a mess. I was having a major panic fit, when I had a brilliant idea (*pat myself on the back*) – just scrape the sides off and make it into a more rustic looking semi-naked cake.

Which I did.

In the end I’m happy with the outcome – it looks less girly than if it had been totally covered in white frosting. And I daresay it looks 100x better without bubbly, gnarly frosting. IMG_20150613_181237

The breakdown of this cake consists of: a vanilla and lemon sponge cake, lychee whipped cream, and fresh lychees as decoration, with a few blobs of whipped cream on the top of the cake. I added a few mint leaves as well for some added color. Not too much though, but just enough to give the cake a difference in color contrast.

As my motto always goes: Aesthetics is Everything!! IMG_20150614_194549Naked cakes are actually quite fun to make, if you make them well. You’ll need to align the cake layers very evenly so it looks nice and straight. And the filling between each layer has to be approximately the same thickness as well. Symmetry is everything in a naked cake.

Anyway, my first two birthday cake orders are done 🙂 I can finally get a good night’s rest.

4 thoughts on “Lychee, Vanilla and Lemon Cake

Leave a Reply

