What I Learnt This Chinese New Year

IMG_20150218_090928

The most important thing I learnt this Chinese New Year, is that everybody over-orders at reunion dinners, and think young adults have bottomless pits for stomachs, especially if said young adult is a supposedly “small, need more fat to grow” girl who also happens to be living in college.

“Jessica, have the last prawn.”

“Umm…alright it’s quite nice actually.”

“Jessica, have the final few pieces of fish.”

“What. Fine fine.”

“Why not eat the last plate of tofu while you’re at it.”

I think I must have gained a quarter of my weight tonight. But thank goodness Chinese New Year is exceptionally quiet for me this year, if not I would look like a gigantic mandarin orange, albeit slightly less orange in color. Nevertheless, it was very kind of my aunt to bring me out to dinner today, since she knew my parents weren’t around and I had absolutely no one to celebrate with. First time she brought me out for a meal!! 2015 is going to be a good year (I hope).

IMG_20150219_150857

Also, I have had lots of time to practice and improve on my macaron making skills. But woe behold they couldn’t fit into my macaron boxes?? Luckily my customers were totally chill about it and shrugged it off! I just package them into little cookie bags, which still looked quite appealing. More appealing than the boxes I would say.

Featured above are the empty, unfilled shells. From right to left: red velvet, rose, lavender honey, vanilla, coconut lime, lemon and salted caramel. I’m probably going to introduce some other flavors, one of which will definitely be pistachio because that flavor is unbeatable. It took me about 4 hours to make all of those. I had to do them in small, individual batches so that I won’t over-mix the macaronage and ruin my entire batch.

IMG_20150218_080713Over the past 2 days, I’ve received lots of positive comments about my baking from my customers and that totally made my Chinese New Year. My friends are so supporting of me, buying from and complimenting me on Facebook and that just makes me so much more confident of my capabilities 🙂 Here’s a rose for you guys! You don’t know how much your support means to me my friends. If you’re reading this, I appreciate and am grateful for you. Truly. Time to use up this free time to practice on my skills!

 

Leave a Reply

