Mixed Berry Sponge Cake

 

IMG_20150114_194829

This is a mixed berry sponge cake with a lemon cream cheese filling for my lovely mother’s birthday (if you’re reading this mom, love ya 😉 ). It actually takes a very short time to make, but due to all my previous silly mistakes I took half a day to make this.

I folded a punnet each (250g) of blueberries and raspberries into the cream cheese filling. What you’re actually seeing in the picture is not the actual cream cheese, but a lemon buttercream border I made specially for that purpose – to act as a barrier to hold the cream cheese filling in the cake, if not it will all come oozing down the sides like what happened in my previous attempt.

IMG_20150114_191550

This was the cake before I coated it in icing sugar- a mixture of red currants, blueberries and raspberries as well as a couple of jasmine flowers I picked right from the garden (I washed them before putting them on the cake, obviously). I also added some mint leaves to provide some color, just for aesthetic purposes, but it does pair well with the flavor and scent of the berries.

10906501_10205242634522117_7880308071847211797_nI just love this rustic charm I don’t know why. It reminds me of winter, when everything has lost it’s color and life underneath a thin powder of snow. But there’s something magical to that scene, and I wanted to bring that out in my creations. I can’t stop thinking of experimenting with my recipes, wondering how I can execute them better and improve the texture, taste etc. Hopefully when they slice the cake open tomorrow the layers will be perfect (firstly I hope it will survive the journey to the cake-slicing-venue 😦 )

 

One thought on “Mixed Berry Sponge Cake

Leave a Reply

