Chocolate Peppermint Cupcakes

IMG_20150106_143527[1]ย An extremely rainy and dreary day – one that matched my mood oh so well. In 3 hours I will have to run after an egg-shaped ball while trying to avoid getting caught by girls twice my size in a muddy field. What a way to end my day and to start the first day of my last week of holidays. Indeed, a very lousy start.

But my new macaron boxes arrived at my door this morning, and to my ultimate relief, my macarons could fit the sleeves perfectly. That made me much happier as you could imagine, so I had the mood to bake some cupcakes, and I decided on chocolate peppermint because…why not?IMG_20150106_143353[1]

I’ve been watching lots of cooking shows, all of which includes Gordon Ramsay and Nigella Lawson, and several times these masterchefs both kept emphasizing that your mood, attitude and feelings while you’re in the kitchen affects how your food turns out. At first I thought this was ridiculous and extremely fluffy, but during the time I had mass productions of macarons and cupcakes during the festive season, I realised this is actually extremely true. When I was stressed or upset, my baked goods turned out deformed (macarons) or ugly (cupcakes).

SO kids, your mood does affect your baking and food considerably. If you don’t feel like cooking, don’t. Everything will just turn out sloppy.IMG_20150106_142401[1]It was a very indecisive time of day when I made these batches of cupcakes – 12 noon in fact. I had just eaten a large plate of very sacrilegious fried rice – it had carrots and corn and celery inside!! What happened to my bacon and prawns and egg? I was quite unhappy ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Luckily I had already finished baking.

The chocolate cupcake was fluffy and moist, and the frosting had the perfect balance of spiciness from the peppermint and sweetness from the icing sugar – yummy. Reminds me so much of Christmas. I can’t believe it’s over and 2015 has now reached us – can’t wait to get a hoverboard as my present next year ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Peppermint Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

