Strawberry Shortcake

IMG_20141227_074344

I came up with this creation when my brother and dad longed for a cake for Christmas. Initially I wanted to make a fraisier, but I decided to take up the challenge of designing and writing the recipe for one myself.

I was slightly apprehensive about the decorations on the top of the cake, because it included tempering chocolate, which is extremely hard to do and was also my first time doing it. Luckily, everything turned out well and my garnishes came out the way I wanted them to.

Chocolate-coated strawberries.

Chocolate-coated strawberries.

A close-up of the garnishes on my cake

A close-up of the garnishes on my cake

I used whipped cream and sliced strawberries as the filling. Initially I wanted to use a strawberry buttercream, but decided against it because it would make the cake too rich, so I stuck to the traditional strawberry shortcake filling.

IMG_20141227_135613

Overall, I’m very happy at the way everything turned out. The layers were equal, my white chocolate buttercream wasn’t too decadent, and there wasn’t too much cream in the centre either. Visually, I thought it was excellent and I wouldn’t change a thing. Though I think I would make some changes to the sponge to make it airier and moister.

It was a very fruitful day (no pun intended), and I hope everyone had a blessed and merry Christmas!😊

Leave a Reply

